Seven Major Chakras

Position of the seven chakras on the human body

Starting at the top of the head and working down - the seven major chakras are as follows (click on each for more info):

7. Crown Chakra, the Enlightenment Center

6. Brow or "Third Eye" Chakra, the Intuition Center 

5. Throat Chakra, the Communication Center 

4. Heart Chakra, the Relationship Center 

3. Solar Plexus Chakra, the Power Center 

2. Sacral Chakra, the Emotional Center

1. Base or Root Chakra, the Survival Center

A chakra is a spinning portal into the body’s complex energy system. There are seven major chakras—locations shown on the figure to the left. Each chakra acts as a focal point for reception and transmission of life force energies. The word, “Chakra” (pronounced “CHAWK-raw”) is an ancient Sanskrit word that means “wheel”. Each chakra has its own set of specific attributes and functions. As a group, chakras work together to vitalize the physical body and facilitate development of all aspects of the self: physical, mental, emotional, and spiritual.

Chakras are constantly adjusting as they move through natural cycles, opening and closing to realign to ever-changing energy flows. Removing and/or preventing energy blockages will allow the chakra system to self-regulate and rebalance naturally as it responds to your  individual needs.

Keeping your chakras balanced is key to leading a vibrant, healthy, and fulfilling life. Chakras work together as a team—an imbalance in one will impact the functioning of the others. When a chakra is blocked or out of balance, energy doesn’t flow harmoniously through it, which can manifest in a physical illness or disease—as well as mental, emotional, or spiritual difficulties.

Learn how to use your pendulum to check the status of your chakras