4. Heart Chakra, the Relationship Center

Position of chakra 4 on the human body
Chakra 4 Symbol

Sanskrit name: Anahata
Translation: "Unstruck"
Location: Center of chest
Color: Green (also Pink)
Vibrational Sound: “YUM
Musical Scale Note: F
Element: Air
Righ(s): To Love, Be Loved
Affirmation: “I am forgiving.”

The Sanskrit name for this chakra is "Anahata" (pronounced “a-nahh-hut-tuh”). It's associated with compassion, love, gratitude, forgiveness, self-love, self-acceptance, intimacy, empathy, relationships, devotion, generosity, and altruism.

Gemstones that resonate with and are used to activate and/or balance this chakra are Malachite, Green Aventurine, Emerald, Green Jade, Peridot, Rose Quartz, Rhodochrosite, and Rhodonite.

See our Chakras page for information about all seven chakras.

Affirmations for Chakra Four


  • I am loved.
  • I am connected to air. My energy soars like an eagle. With every breath I take, I fly higher and higher through a sky filled with love.
  • I accept and love myself completely, as I am.
  • I am kind to myself and to others.
  • I am filled with gratitude.
  • I’m not afraid to reach out and connect to others with an open heart.
  • I forgive myself and others.
  • The love around and within me is limitless.
  • I act with generosity and compassion.
  • I am a channel for divine love.
  • I am connected to my true essence.
  • My energy resonates with love, gratitude, forgiveness, empathy, and generosity.